About Us

Mission

Golden LEAF’s mission is to increase economic opportunities in North Carolina’s rural and tobacco-dependent communities through leadership in grantmaking, collaboration, innovation, and stewardship as an independent and perpetual foundation.

One of our foundation’s strongest and most long-standing pillars of contribution is to the Golden LEAF Scholarship. Scholarships are available to students from qualifying counties, who demonstrate financial need, to help them attend college at participating North Carolina public or private institutions and community colleges. Golden LEAF’s goal is for scholarship recipients to gain the talent, knowledge, and skills needed to help their communities thrive.

Our Team & Partnerships

The Golden LEAF Scholarship and experience is made possible by several organizations that work hand-in-hand to invest in leaders from rural communities.

Arlena Ratliff

Golden LEAF Foundation Scholarship Program Manager

aratliff@goldenleaf.org

Shawn Henderson 

Higher Education Program Manager

shenderson@ncseaa.edu

Brenda Burgess

Associate Director of Student Aid

burgessb@nccommunitycolleges.edu

Julie Griffin, Senior Director  griffinj@ccl.org

Robert Matthews, Deputy Director matthewsr@ccl.org

Olaunda Green

Rural Internship Initiative Program Manager

ogreen@ncruralcenter.org

301 N. Winstead Avenue

Rocky Mount, NC 27804

Phone: 252-442-7474

Toll-free: 888-684-8404

Fax: 252-442-7404

Email: scholars@goldenleaf.org